April–Studying Sweden

Screen Shot 2017-04-28 at 8.59.46 AM

There is a specific kind of short-tempered exhaustion that hits teachers in the last month of school. Combine that with the frustration of forcing teenagers to complete 5 days of silent state testing, coming home to a grumpy and sunburned firefighter, and mitigating the wedding requests of an involved family and over 200 guests–well, at that wiped out intersection is where you’ll find me, face-down and begging for coffee.

Being a total idiot, I also spent April signing up for extra duties like Saturday School, house-sitting for my parents, and taking charge of organizing a volunteer activity for the Teach for America board I serve on.

I’ve kicked my own butt this month.

Nevertheless, it’s spring–my favorite time of year, my birthday is coming up, and we are officially in the double digits of our nuptial countdown, so I’ve done my best to squeeze in some fun as well. My in-laws, my fiancé and I did Pat’s Run together, I roped in some friends to attend our Cajun Festival so I could suck down some crawfish, and we celebrated both of my parents’ birthdays. We closed out the month with my bridal shower, which was basically a giant tailgate thrown in my honor–exactly what I wanted.

So with all that going on, it wasn’t terribly surprising that I spent almost the whole month with one book, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. Albeit, it was a longer one and I was certainly out of my element genre-wise.

I finished The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo while my students were state testing, and I actually got a bulk of the reading done at school. I had no idea violence against women played such a central role to the plot, so my inner activist was pleased to have read this book during Sexual Assault Awareness Month. It took me a while to get into the political, financial world set up by Larsson, but once the mystery of the Vanger family began to unfold, I plowed through the final 300 pages quite quickly. I don’t know if I identified with mild-mannered and investigative Blomkvist or analytical and angry Salander, but I appreciate both of this off-beat characters and enjoyed them as a team.

I had every intention of making it to Kiribati this month–especially since I took a personal day to spend at home–but alas, it did not happen. The last weekend of April was spent celebrating at my bridal shower, attending my niece and nephew’s third birthday part, and recovering from those two momentous occasions (thank you notes, clean-up, and maybe a smidgen of a hangover..). Therefore, the time I thought I’d have for reading never presented itself.

Less than a month left of school (though that month does include an overnight field trip to Los Angeles with 24 8th-graders). Less than three months until I’m a married woman. Looking forward to a few good books to accompany me during this exciting time!

Leave a Reply

