July–Mulling over St. Thomas & Haiti

Screen Shot 2017-07-30 at 8.37.10 AM

July was a month I spent caught between wishing it away and savoring every moment. The end of the month meant summer break was over–first day of school came shockingly early this year on the 31st–but it also meant my wedding, the event we’ve been planning since December and the beginning of the rest of my life.

I tried to select books with a nuptial theme to set the tone for this momentous month in my life, so I started off with the epic love story of The Marriage of Opposites, a book I absolutely loved. Rachel explores a variety of loves–with her kind but removed first husband, with her step-children, with her cryptic parents, with her best friend and possible half-sister, and lastly, with the love of her life Frederick–and the compounding factors that make these relationships real and challenging: scandal, secrets, and much more. While I hope my own marriage doesn’t consist of quite so much intrigue, it was still a riveting and unique love story that my heart adored.

Next, I picked up Julia Alvarez’s A Wedding in Haiti, which I enjoyed much more than expected. With all the thousands of wedding details finally coming into fruition these last few weeks, my email and phone were constantly chirping with updates and questions, and it was hard for me to focus on anything for longer than 3 minutes. (I recently began watching Pretty Little Liars on Netflix as my go-to relaxation activity because it was mindless enough for me to take care of other tasks with). So much more than an outsider’s look at one of a culture’s most exemplary displays of tradition and values, a wedding, this book also looks at pre and post earthquake Haiti with tenderness and curiosity. Furthermore, it was a compact little book that was super easy to tote with me along to last minute wedding appointments.

I hauled one more book with me up to Prescott for the wedding and on our honeymoon, but it was a honker of a book and I don’t know why I’m surprised I didn’t have time to read it! Between wedding excitement and prep, trying to get as prepared as possible for the upcoming school year, and the exhaustion that followed the wedding, it’s no wonder I didn’t have time to read a 700-page novel.

This next month will bring the start of my fourth year of teaching, my first as a Mrs., and hopefully restoring our lives to some post-nuptial order! And definitely a book or two, who are we kidding.

Leave a Reply

